Morris Weiss Award for Outstanding Educators

Honoring Teachers

In many people’s lives, there is at least one teacher who inspired them and helped them become who they are today.

To celebrate the significant role of teachers in the field of Holocaust education, the Preisler Shorenstein Institute will honor three dedicated educators who would like the opportunity to further their educational development in order to include the lessons of the Holocaust and patterns of genocide in their classrooms as a means to inspire understanding, moral courage, and social responsibility in the future.

Morris Weiss was a founder of the JFCS Holocaust Center. A Holocaust survivor who testified at Nazi war crimes trials, he was dedicated to fighting discrimination and anti-Semitism. In his memory, his family established this scholarship fund.

The Award

The Morris Weiss Award will grant three outstanding teachers in the greater Bay Area $1,000 for professional development and an additional grant of $1,500 to their schools to be spent on resources, events, or other programs related to Holocaust education.

Each year, the Morris Weiss Award is presented at the San Francisco Yom HaShoah Ceremony in the spring. Please Note: Receipt of award is contingent on attendance at the ceremony.

Eligibility & Process

  • Nominees must currently teach in the greater Bay Area.
  • Teachers of all grades and subject areas are eligible.

Please check back in December 2017 for more information on how to apply for the 2018 Morris Weiss Award.

Application Process:

  • Include name, mailing address, email address, phone number, school, grade and subject.
  • Include a letter of recommendation from a current school administrator.
  • Include a letter of recommendation from a current student.
  • Include current resume or CV.

Please type responses to the following essay questions:

  1. How will your lessons of the Holocaust change in the post-survivor era? (500 words)
  2. How would you apply the Morris Weiss Award of $1,000 to your professional development over the next two years as a teacher of the Holocaust and patterns of genocide? How would you apply the additional grant of $1,500 to your school and/or classroom? (500 words)


  • All application requirements must arrive together in one packet.
  • Send applications to or by mail to: Yedida Kanfer, JFCS Holocaust Center, P.O. Box 159004, San Francisco, CA 94115

The winner will be notified in April 2018.
The winners agree to provide their social security numbers to Jewish Family and Children’s Services for the purposes of making the scholarship award.

  • All entries become the property of Jewish Family and Children’s Services, and the winners grant Jewish Family and Children’s Services the right to publish their essays, in whole or in part, along with the winners’ names, and schools.
  • Jewish Family and Children’s Services reserves the right to withhold the awards in any given year, if submissions do not meet contest standards or criteria.